top of page

Who We Are

The Trail of History is a privately funded 501(c)(3) non-profit organization formed in 2005 to recapture and preserve the significance of key people who contributed to the history, growth, and development of Mecklenburg County by erecting larger-than-life representative statues along the urban section of the Little Sugar Creek Greenway, a 16-mile natural treasure that runs through the heart of Charlotte-Mecklenburg. 


Trail of History individuals are chosen for commemoration by a select committee of local historians through a rigorous process. The bronze statues represent Mecklenburg County's ethnic, religious, political, and gendered diversity across the 250-year history.


The Spirit of Mecklenburg was the first statue erected on The Trail of History in 2010, depicting Captain James Jack on his horse bearing the Mecklenburg Declaration of Independence on his ride to Philadelphia in 1775.


Currently, there are ten statue sites on the Little Sugar Creek Greenway in Midtown Charlotte. They include Thomas Spratt and Chief King Haigler, leader of the Catawba nation in the mid-18th century; Jane Wilkes, a leader in Charlotte health care in the 1800s; Thaddeus Tate, African American entrepreneur and philanthropist; William Henry Belk; James B. Duke; Thomspon Orphanage; Philip Lance Van Every; Julius Chambers, civil rights leader; and Dr. Annie Alexander, the first licensed female physician in North Carolina.


Three more statue sites are in the fundraising phase, expected to be erected by 2027, including musician Loonis McGlohon and African-American educators George and Marie Davis.

Executive Director

Kendall Kendrick

Kendall began her career 30 years ago as an on-air talent and event manager in radio. She has spent the past six years dedicated to local history nonprofits.

She was a volunteer board member for three years before being hired in 2022 to revitalize the Trail of History. Kendall leads the America 250 NC Mecklenburg County Commission. She also serves on the Mecklenburg County Park and Recreation Latta Place Reimagined Stakeholder Committee and the Huntersville Public Arts Commission.


2024 Board of Directors


Scott Syfert, Moore & Van Allen Law Firm


Vice Chair

Matthew Ridenhour



Natalie Centeno, Forvis



Gary Ritter, Central Piedmont Community College


Al Brown, Partners for Parks, Inc.


George Edmiston, Carolina Investment Consulting

Larry Farber, Middle C Jazz


Jessica Graham, Fionix Consulting, LLC


J. Ron Hankins

Tyrone Harmon, Harmon Construction Services, LLC

Sharon Harrington, Novant Health Foundation


Charles Jonas, Foundry Commercial


Bill H. McNair


Dan Nance, Historical Artist


Beth Poovey, LandDesign, Inc.


Chase Saunders


David Taylor

Chris Thomas, Childress Klein

Dr. Tony Zeiss


David Zimmerman, Southern Shows


Gwen Cook (ex-officio)

Mecklenburg County Park & Recreation

bottom of page